my diary

an irregularly updated collection of thoughts

bear4

HOW IS IT THE END OF JULY ALREADY... this month has simultaneously felt very long + very short, I can't explain it. It has continued to be very cold but I'm managing it (with UGG boots and fleecy jumpers).

I've been working on another 3D printed prop: the teal mask from the Pokemon ScarVi expansion. The hobby place I get paints from was having a sale on some of their Vallejo paints so I was able to get most of the supplies for a really reasonable price. Now I'm just waiting on some holographic chrome nail powder to really make the shiny parts shine, haha.

Next month will be even more of a whirlwind...

HOW IS IT JULY ALREADY... I think I've been saying this at the end of every month this year but oh man... time sure is marching!! I started writing myself lists - physical lists, that I stick within eye level at my desk - because I suddenly have so much to do again. Don't know why I don't do that all the time, but hey, it's something.

s11-sunflower-line

I'm wrapping up 2 3D printed projects for friends this week -another Kabbit BJD, and Marcille's staff (from Dungeon Meshi). They both came out really nice, I'm really happy with them. I switched back to regular PLA, from a matte variety I was using before, and the regular PLA prints way better at default settings (obviously) - I'll have to do a specific flow test for the next time I want to use that matte PLA, but to be fair I didn't even know how to do that until last week haha.

s11-sunflower-line

We've had some really, really cold winter nights lately. Like "not even 2 blankets is enough" cold... I wish I could get a little heater installed under my desk to keep me cosy (in a way that wouldn't be a fire hazard).

cold

thbearycold

Today is my birthday! Funnily enough, I am also turning 28 (haha). My parents gave me some money to go towards paying off the 3D printer I recently upgraded to, plus they're cooking me a delicious ravioli dinner later. My brother surprised me with Pokemon cards (the Twilight Masquerade box!!! - I'm mad he spent that much but also very happy).

xg06

Spent the morning looking for a particular cake I wanted but couldn't find it... it was a Tiramisu cake, how good does that sound?? I settled on a chocolate layer cake - still very good, excited to try some later.

xg06

Overall, a very relaxed and laid back day. I kind of dread the lead up to my late 20's birthdays, since they just don't live up to the excitement of when I was younger, but they never turn out that bad.

It's been a rough couple of days but I'm doing ok. Luckily I have my other dog, Dusty - he's a great source of comfort. In other news, I got "Aseprite" to help make some pixels for this site (I made one of Dusty too, as you can see below, haha). It's been fun to tinker around with.

dusty1

We had to say goodbye to my sweet dog Max yesterday. It's still very raw and painful, I made a little memorial to him here on my site to help work through my grief. It's probably not the most eloquently written tribute, but it came from the heart.

Guess I should start using this page! I thought I should mention that it's probably strange, if you look on my neocities profile, that it says "created: 2017"... I originally made my account then, and I've tried a couple of times to build a site but lost interest in it, only to come back + want to start over (haha). This is the first time I've taken a more laid back approach, and it seems to be working!

Linie-34

The last couple of days have been stressful as my older dog has been unwell.. I won't go into details but I'm hoping it's nothing too serious, but I have to be prepared given he's a senior... I wish all dogs could live forever.